Watch Live Geminid Meteor Shower Livestream from NASA

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #13886
    Assistanc3
    Participant

    If it’s clear outside on Wednesday night (Dec. 13) and Thursday morning (Dec. 14) before dawn, be sure to go outdoors. One of the year’s top meteor showers, the Geminids, will peak, with rates as high as one or two meteors per minute at around 10 p.m. local time. However, the show will start around 7 p.m. local time, according to the magazine Sky & Telescope.

    But if you can’t make it out, or if skies are gloomy, you can also watch a Geminids webcast on Space.com courtesy of NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Alabama starting at about 6 p.m. EST (2300 GMT) on Dec. 13. The Virtual Telescope Project will also host a webcast here showing live views from Italy, starting at 5 p.m. EDT (2200 GMT) on Dec. 13, and Arizona, starting at 5 a.m. (1000 GMT) on Dec. 14.

    https://www.space.com/19195-night-sky-planets-asteroids-webcasts.html

    #13896

    [size=5][color=blue][b]Thanks for reminder … Yesterday we were at 13F with winds howling …. but today we are almost 3X warmer at 36F with southerly winds driving back the cold back a little … and went out this morning to observe as life long member of North American Meteor Association …

    YES — I did see one nice fireball 8) 8) … and a few smaller sparkler types. Even with winds at 20-30 mph it felt like a hairdryer compared to yesterday … I endured about 15 minutes & may go back out again, once I’m warmed back up :)[/b][/color][/size]

    #13897
    Assistanc3
    Participant

    I didn’t get to see the meteor shower due to cloud cover

    glad I was able to remind you

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.